lindsay emory

Welcome to the official site of Lindsay Emory, author of books with kisses and sass including the Sorority Sisters Mysteries, The Last Plus One, and the forthcoming The Royal Runaway.

Filtering by Tag: 2019

Best Books to Read Now - June 2019

Reminder/ Caveat/ Disclaimer: This is my (hopefully) monthly list of books I’ve read and enjoyed. These are not reviews, I do not include books I didn’t enjoy because life is too short to speak badly of books!

Best books to read in 2019.png

Welcome to the Best Books to Read Now Book Club! My (hopefully) monthly blog featuring my reading list, my TBR pile and the books I think you and your best friends should be reading. 

If you’re not sure whether you’ll agree with  my recommendations, check out my blog post on My Reader Wheels and my podcast, Women With Books . Those should help you decide if you’re going to be into my recommendations.

The best book club recommendations for you and your friends!

The best book club recommendations for you and your friends!

I’ve actually read way more this month, but some of them are advanced copies so I can’t wait to tell you about them when you can actually, um, buy them! lol

Waiting for Tom Hanks - Kerry Winfrey
Amazon || Apple Books
If you happened upon one of my Instagram stories a few weeks ago where I was going C R A Z Y about a book I was reading, this was it!! This was the perfect way to kick off summer reading - something that can be passed around your group of girlfriends around the pool, your teenager can borrow it on summer vacation when she gets bored, or you can keep it in your bag while you’re waiting for the kiddos at camp. It’s light, breezy, funny, romantic… I smiled the whole time.

You, hitting one click on this book.

You, hitting one click on this book.

Say No to the Duke - Eloisa James
Amazon || Apple Books

I’ve shared my love for this series on the blog before, and this one might be my favorite, given that the Wilde is the heroine. The hero has PTSD from the war in the Colonies so he’s scarred but still great hero material.

Rebel - Beverly Jenkins
Amazon || Apple Books

I was really excited about this book when I heard about it because (1) Beverly Jenkins (2) Reconstruction-era (3) New Orleans and I was not disappointed. I’ve always loved historical stories set in New Orleans and this one was no exception.
This is billed as the first in a new series (Women Who Dare) but the reviews say that there are characters in this from other Jenkins books. I’m relatively late to Miss Bev’s extensive backlist, so this didn’t impact my reading and if it didn’t impact mine, it probably wouldn’t change how you come to the story. Honestly, hearing that the characters were in other books made me want to clear a month and (finally!) dig into all those saved Beverly Jenkins books I have.

Death in Kew Gardens - Jennifer Ashley
Amazon
|| Apple Books

I included this series in my blog post on my favorite fun feminine mysteries and this newest installment just cements that opinion for me. I also suggested this series as one of your comfort reads for the Women With Books Summer Reading Challenge. If you like historical mysteries, Downton Abbey-type servant shenanigans, and mysterious and charming love interests, check out these books.

downton 1.gif

And yes, there were some books I did not love this month…. I’ll be talking more about those and why I think they didn’t connect with me in my newsletter this month.

Do you like books on sale?
Make sure you’re following me on Facebook because that’s where I post great books on sale!

And what about you?
I’d love to hear what you’ve read and loved lately or what you’re looking forward to reading next!  If you want these book recommendations (and a sneak peek at my TBR list and advanced reading copies) sent straight to your inbox, remember to sign up for my newsletter where I’ll be including all the best book club recommendations throughout 2019!

Best Books to Read Now - May 2019

Reminder/ Caveat/ Disclaimer: This is my (hopefully) monthly list of books I’ve read and enjoyed. These are not reviews, I do not include books I didn’t enjoy because life is too short to speak badly of books!

Best books to read in 2019.png

Welcome to the Best Books to Read Now Book Club! My (hopefully) monthly blog featuring my reading list, my TBR pile and the books I think you and your best friends should be reading. 

If you’re not sure whether you’ll agree with  my recommendations, check out my blog post on My Reader Wheels and my podcast, Women With Books . Those should help you decide if you’re going to be into my recommendations.

The best book club recommendations for you and your friends!

The best book club recommendations for you and your friends!

It’s so interesting to look at these every month and look for patterns. This month on the list I have 2 new releases that are both contemporary romantic comedies and two older books that are historical romance.

The Unhoneymooners - Christina Lauren
Amazon || Apple Books

This is a true romantic comedy and it’s a perfect release for vacation reading lists everywhere. Light, breezy, sexy in Maui!

Passion on Park Avenue - Lauren Layne
Amazon || Apple Books

The first in a new series, this book hooked me from the very start with its voice and sense of humor. I CANNOT WAIT for the next two books in the series and neither will you. Another perfect beach read - think Sex and the City but for the Hallmark Channel (read: not quite as spicy.)

The King’s Man - Elizabeth Kingston
Amazon || Apple Books

I’ve been seeing recommendations for this author all over the freaking place and then last month, after I included Alyssa Cole’s medieval romance on my list, I went looking for more… and found this one had been praised all over social media. I really enjoyed it, partially because, again, it’s a new -ish historical time period for me and also because the heroine is a F*CKING BAD ASS. Think Brienne of Tarth from Game of Thrones.

Mr. Impossible - Loretta Chase
Amazon || Apple Books

Loretta Chase wrote one of my ALL-TIME FAVORITE ROMANCES, Lord of Scoundrels, so when I saw this one recommended for fans of The Mummy, I thought, um, YES PLEASE. And it now is my second favorite Loretta Chase book and it could be a re-read, along with my other favorite Egypt-set historical romance (and Swooniest Romance), As You Desire by Connie Brockway. (One thinks that perhaps I should write a book about two archeologists or something given my love for all things set in Egypt…)

mummy 3.gif
mummy 2.gif

And yes, there were some books I did not love this month…. I’ll be talking more about those and why I think they didn’t connect with me in my newsletter this month.

Do you like books on sale?
Make sure you’re following me on Facebook because that’s where I post great books on sale!

And what about you?
I’d love to hear what you’ve read and loved lately or what you’re looking forward to reading next!  If you want these book recommendations (and a sneak peek at my TBR list and advanced reading copies) sent straight to your inbox, remember to sign up for my newsletter where I’ll be including all the best book club recommendations throughout 2019!

• All Site Content ©2017, Lindsay Emory. All Rights Reserved •