lindsay emory

Welcome to the official site of Lindsay Emory, author of books with kisses and sass including the Sorority Sisters Mysteries, The Last Plus One, and the forthcoming The Royal Runaway.

Filtering by Tag: contemporary romance

Best Books to Read Now - May 2019

Reminder/ Caveat/ Disclaimer: This is my (hopefully) monthly list of books I’ve read and enjoyed. These are not reviews, I do not include books I didn’t enjoy because life is too short to speak badly of books!

Best books to read in 2019.png

Welcome to the Best Books to Read Now Book Club! My (hopefully) monthly blog featuring my reading list, my TBR pile and the books I think you and your best friends should be reading. 

If you’re not sure whether you’ll agree with  my recommendations, check out my blog post on My Reader Wheels and my podcast, Women With Books . Those should help you decide if you’re going to be into my recommendations.

The best book club recommendations for you and your friends!

The best book club recommendations for you and your friends!

It’s so interesting to look at these every month and look for patterns. This month on the list I have 2 new releases that are both contemporary romantic comedies and two older books that are historical romance.

The Unhoneymooners - Christina Lauren
Amazon || Apple Books

This is a true romantic comedy and it’s a perfect release for vacation reading lists everywhere. Light, breezy, sexy in Maui!

Passion on Park Avenue - Lauren Layne
Amazon || Apple Books

The first in a new series, this book hooked me from the very start with its voice and sense of humor. I CANNOT WAIT for the next two books in the series and neither will you. Another perfect beach read - think Sex and the City but for the Hallmark Channel (read: not quite as spicy.)

The King’s Man - Elizabeth Kingston
Amazon || Apple Books

I’ve been seeing recommendations for this author all over the freaking place and then last month, after I included Alyssa Cole’s medieval romance on my list, I went looking for more… and found this one had been praised all over social media. I really enjoyed it, partially because, again, it’s a new -ish historical time period for me and also because the heroine is a F*CKING BAD ASS. Think Brienne of Tarth from Game of Thrones.

Mr. Impossible - Loretta Chase
Amazon || Apple Books

Loretta Chase wrote one of my ALL-TIME FAVORITE ROMANCES, Lord of Scoundrels, so when I saw this one recommended for fans of The Mummy, I thought, um, YES PLEASE. And it now is my second favorite Loretta Chase book and it could be a re-read, along with my other favorite Egypt-set historical romance (and Swooniest Romance), As You Desire by Connie Brockway. (One thinks that perhaps I should write a book about two archeologists or something given my love for all things set in Egypt…)

mummy 3.gif
mummy 2.gif

And yes, there were some books I did not love this month…. I’ll be talking more about those and why I think they didn’t connect with me in my newsletter this month.

Do you like books on sale?
Make sure you’re following me on Facebook because that’s where I post great books on sale!

And what about you?
I’d love to hear what you’ve read and loved lately or what you’re looking forward to reading next!  If you want these book recommendations (and a sneak peek at my TBR list and advanced reading copies) sent straight to your inbox, remember to sign up for my newsletter where I’ll be including all the best book club recommendations throughout 2019!

Best Books to Read Now - April 2019

Reminder/ Caveat/ Disclaimer: This is my (hopefully) monthly list of books I’ve read and enjoyed. These are not reviews, I do not include books I didn’t enjoy because life is too short to speak badly of books!

Best books to read in 2019.png

Welcome to the Best Books to Read Now Book Club! My (hopefully) monthly blog featuring my reading list, my TBR pile and the books I think you and your best friends should be reading. 

If you’re not sure whether you’ll agree with  my recommendations, check out my blog post on My Reader Wheels and my podcast, Women With Books . Those should help you decide if you’re going to be into my recommendations.

The best book club recommendations for you and your friends!

The best book club recommendations for you and your friends!

There’s a bit more variety in my fiction choices this month - a contemporary rom com even made the list!

Gimme Some Sugar - Molly Harper
Amazon || Apple Books

I think I’ve read all of Molly Harper’s Southern Eclectic series now and I have to say, I just love Lake Sackett, Georgia. This one features a best friends to lovers storyline and deep fried red velvet cake balls. It’s perfect to satisfy your cravings for small town romance AND sweets.

When We Left Cuba - Chanel Cleeton
Amazon || Apple Books

I featured Chanel Cleeton’s Next Year in Havana last year (and it was a Reese Witherspoon book club pick) and I chatted with Chanel on the Women With Books podcast here.
This continues the story of the Perez family and the Cuban Revolution and focuses on Beatriz. It’s hard for me to say if this is a standalone story, since I read the first one and I think reading the first one really enriches this story because it gives you the whole background of the family in Cuba. So get both books and immerse yourself in 1960 Cuba & Florida!

Too Wilde to Wed - Eloisa James
Amazon || Apple Books

I read the first in this series and really couldn’t wait to see how Eloisa turned a frippy fop with a wig and high heeled shoes into a hero that we could all swoon over and Ms. James totally delivered! I love the Wilde family!

What the Wind Knows - Amy Harmon
Amazon || Apple Books

I devoured this book over road trip to Colorado during Spring Break. I saw it described as “perfect for fans of Outlander” so I knew I had to at least give it a shot. There were some similarities between it and Outlander - this story also involves time travel to the British Isles (Ireland in this case). But there was a unique family twist to this story that made it a little different and the history was much more recent. I turned the pages very quickly trying to find out exactly how Ms. Harmon was going to tie up the huge dangling mystery in this middle of this book.

Agnes Moor’s Wild Knight - Alyssa Cole
Amazon || Apple Books

I’ve had this book for FOREVER and I’ve been saving it for a rainy day. And, well. A gloomy Spring day finally came that could only be cured with an Alyssa Cole book. I have a soft spot in my heart for medieval romances and this is a novella by an author that I know handles lesser trod time periods with graceful prose and well-researched details. The only thing that disappointed me was that now I don’t have another Alyssa Cole medieval romance novella to look forward to.

And yes, there were some books I did not love this month…. I’ll be talking more about those and why I think they didn’t connect with me in my newsletter this month.

Do you like books on sale?
Make sure you’re following me on Facebook because that’s where I post great books on sale!

And what about you?
I’d love to hear what you’ve read and loved lately or what you’re looking forward to reading next!  If you want these book recommendations (and a sneak peek at my TBR list and advanced reading copies) sent straight to your inbox, remember to sign up for my newsletter where I’ll be including all the best book club recommendations throughout 2019!

Best Books to Read Now - March 2019

Reminder/ Caveat/ Disclaimer: This is my (hopefully) monthly list of books I’ve read and enjoyed. These are not reviews, I do not include books I didn’t enjoy because life is too short to speak badly of books!

Best books to read in 2019.png

Welcome to the Best Books to Read Now Book Club! My (hopefully) monthly blog featuring my reading list, my TBR pile and the books I think you and your best friends should be reading. 

If you’re not sure whether you’ll agree with  my recommendations, check out my blog post on My Reader Wheels and my podcast, Women With Books . Those should help you decide if you’re going to be into my recommendations.

The best book club recommendations for you and your friends!

The best book club recommendations for you and your friends!

I just realized that all four of these books are (mostly) historical fiction. Huh. Weird how the subconscious book picker works, right? Let’s see what I read this month!

A Wicked Kind of Husband - Mia Vincy
Amazon

Do you love historical romance? Do you love a marriage of convenience, sharp characters, smart, funny banter and sobbing your guts out at the end of a book? If yes, then you absolutely have to read this DEBUT book from Mia Vincy. You won’t believe it’s her first novel.


Daisy Jones and the Six - Taylor Jenkins Reid
Amazon || Apple Books

This book is everywhere so I’m not the only one shouting about it from the rooftops but I cannot stop thinking about this book. I got an ARC and I’ve been harassing everyone on social media who has a copy because I NEED TO TALK ABOUT THIS BOOK. Get it, read it and then let’s chat.


The Shell Seekers- Rosamunde Pilcher
Amazon || Apple Books

I first read this book… a long time ago. Let’s just say I was in my formative years. I’m sure I re-read it several times, each time swept away by this multi-generational family saga. Recently, the author, Rosamunde Pilcher, passed away and when I heard the news, I immediately went to Amazon and picked up the digital copy of this book because I’m sure the paperback version in my family was falling apart. Sometimes these types of books don’t age well but I can report that The Shell Seekers still is a wonderful read, and if it were repackaged as the WWII books are today, with ladies in hats looking up at the spitfires in the sky, it would fit right in. If you’re loving the recent trend in historical fiction, do yourself a favor and pick this one up again - or for the first time.

The Lieutenant’s Nurse - Sara Ackerman
Amazon || Apple Books

Speaking of women in 1940’s clothing looking up at the sky (LOL at myself), I LOVED this book, the second historical fiction novel by Sara Ackerman. It’s the story of Pearl Harbor, seen through the eyes of a recent arrival to Hawaii and yes, I was SO WORRIED about what was going to happen! If you want to hear all the details about this book, check out my Women With Books podcast episode with Sara Ackerman here.


And yes, there were some books I did not love this month…. I’ll be talking more about those and why I think they didn’t connect with me in my newsletter this month.

Do you like books on sale?
Make sure you’re following me on Facebook because that’s where I post great books on sale!

And what about you?
I’d love to hear what you’ve read and loved lately or what you’re looking forward to reading next!  If you want these book recommendations (and a sneak peek at my TBR list and advanced reading copies) sent straight to your inbox, remember to sign up for my newsletter where I’ll be including all the best book club recommendations throughout 2019!







• All Site Content ©2017, Lindsay Emory. All Rights Reserved •